Capitalizing on the Honey Badger

I’ve been hearing a new Kohl’s commercial on the radio for the last couple of days featuring the honey badger (sadly, the only place I could find the radio spot online was on a blog by some guy named Dan O’Day who has apparently been living under a rock). The first time I heard it, I almost wrecked my car because I was laughing so hard. Now, don’t get me wrong, the commercial itself isn’t that funny. What tickled my funny bone was the attempt by Kohl’s to capitalize on the popularity of the honey badger. For those of you that have been living under a rock with Dan for the last six months, the honey badger has ascended into the popular psyche with a YouTube video gone viral. Now, the honey badger is cropping up all over the place: in an episode of Glee, on t-shirts, bumper stickers, etc. and it even has its own shot.

The honey badger video just goes to show you that it doesn’t take much to get a lot of attention today. The video was a 2007 National Geographic clip about the African honey badger that was cleverly voiced over by “Randall.” This video, as of today, has almost 13.5 million views. That’s a lot of exposure. This is what YouTube can do for you, if you can hit on a clever idea that goes viral.

Or, if you have a dearth of original ideas, you can also do what Kohl’s did and simply capitalize on someone else’s creativity. The honey badger doesn’t care.

About Pamela

I have a master's degree in Political Science from the University of South Florida. My current research focus examines the modern industrial food system from a critical theory perspective.

Posted on August 4, 2011, in Social Media and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Capitalizing on the Honey Badger.

Comments are closed.

